Marzano – The Best of Times?

The introductory chapter sent me into a statistical depression. Marzano documents the different studies throughout the years which paint a bleak picture of public education in the U.S. I’ve heard it all before. I’ve heard it all my 52 years. Growing up in suburban Chicago, the news would come out now and then about how little Johnny can’t read. To tell the truth, I just wasn’t seeing it. Everything looked pretty fan-freakin’-tastic at my schools! Indoor pool, 7 female PE teachers and who knows how many men, AP classes in everything, 4 years of 4 different languages available, everyone planned for college. Yet, we were always told how bad public education was doing. Now, I’m teaching decades later in an area without all of the advantages. My students come from families who have various views of school and education. Many had to suffer through it. Some never made it. In other words, my students don’t come to school with quite the same background that my peers did. Isn’t this how it is? Some areas have well supported schools where students enter with eagerness and high expectations and others have schools that struggle where the students are ambivalent about education and often dread the classroom each day. The question is, can I make a difference to MY students? According to the statistics, no, not much. Marzano wants to re-think the stats and give them a new spin. I’m all about looking on the bright side and have always felt that statistics and data do NOT (forgive me) give the whole picture. Data can be manipulated to be bleak or cheery and the focus can be changed with the right glasses.

Published in: on October 3, 2009 at 10:20 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://jennybateacher.wordpress.com/2009/10/03/marzano-the-best-of-times/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

