Power Progress!

I’ve been doing more and more Teach/Okay lately and the effects are miraculous (as expected).  The technique proves to be highly effective for retention of vocabulary.  By pairing the word and definition with gestures, my students recall words weeks after the test has come and gone.  This is NOT the norm.  When we run into a former vocabulary word in another context, if students don’t instantly remember the word, I can prompt them with  a simple gesture and they often prompt each other.  I’m anticipating that the unit vocabulary test will prove to be mastered successfully by the entire class!  We shall see.

Published in: on October 28, 2008 at 1:37 am  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://jennybateacher.wordpress.com/2008/10/28/power-progress/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. That is very interesting! I learned sign language before I became an English major. In fact, I had planned on being a sign language interpreter, but, as you can see, things changed.

    Anyway, I think I might try your technique this week. Thanks for this post!

    Ben Davis
    http://teacheng.us


Leave a Reply

