Writing Workshop – Publishing Student Writing

I’ve managed to neglect this important part of the Writing Workshop for years now, but I think I’ve finally gotten into the groove. I’d been trying to publish too early and I’ve made promises I was unable to fulfill. This year I made no effort to publish indivdual works until after Christmas. Eureka! My students already understand a lot about re-reading and editing. Now they are experiencing the really revision process. They can see better ways to tell stories they have already written and get them ready for publication. Our current publishing process includes copy paper folded into books with scrapbook paper covers. I type their name and title for the cover. The write the innards of the books and ilustrate them. We’re keeping it simple and they have taken to it well. In period of three weeks we suddenly have over 20 books written. They are of various lengths and strengths but they get better and better. My student who ONLY wrote about how she loves her mother, published that book and has finally moved on to other topics! (I would have published her mama stories three months ago if I’d known that’s what it took.)

Published in: on February 16, 2008 at 9:50 pm  Comments (2)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://jennybateacher.wordpress.com/2008/02/16/writing-workshop-publishing-student-writing/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I look forward to reading more of your classroom experiences! Andi

  2. Hi

    I am a student teacher in CA and came across your blog while looking for resources on publishing students’ writing. I am taking a tech class and one of our assignments is creating a blog.. I thought yours was great! I would like to link yours to mine or use some of your resources if you don’t mind. :o)


Leave a Reply

